Web Analytics

West Bengal Government Holiday List 2021 PDF

Government of West Bengal
Finance (Audit) Department
Nabanna, 325, Sarat Chatterjee Road
Howrah-711 102.

No. 3100-F(P2)

Howrah, the 5th November 2020

  1. In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881), read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub(I) dated the 8th June, 1957 the Governor is pleased to declare the days as specified at List I below to be Public Holidays during the year 2021.
  2. The Governor is also pleased to notify that the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata shall be closed on the days as specified at List II below which are not declared to be public holidays, during the year 2021.
  3. Further, the Governor is also pleased to declare that the days as specified at List III may be observed as Sectional Holidays in the year 2021 for the employees of different communities mentioned against the day.

List I (Public Holidays in 2021 under the N.I.Act)

12 January 2022, Tuesday: Birth Day of Swami Vivekananda
13 January 2022, Saturday: ** Birth Day of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose
26 January 2022, Tuesday: Republic Day January 26, Tuesday
16 February 2022, Tuesday: Saraswati Puja (Sree Panchami)
02 April 2022, Friday: Good Friday
14 April 2022, Wednesday: Birth Day of Dr Ambedkar
15 April 2022, Thursday: Bengali New Year’s Day (Nababarsha)
01 May 2022, Saturday* – May Day
14 May 2022, Friday: Idul Fitr
26 May 2022, Wednesday: Buddha Purnima
21 July 2022, Wednesday: Bakrid / Eid al Adha
19 August 2022, Thursday: Muharram
02 October 2022, Saturday: ** Birth Day of Gandhi
06 October 2022, Wednesday: Mahalaya
12 October 2022, Tuesday: Durgapuja Saptami
13 October 2022, Wednesday: Durgapuja Astami
14 October 2022, Thursday: Durgapuja Nabami
15 October 2022, Friday: Durgapuja Dasami
20 October 2022, Wednesday: Lakshmi Puja
04 November 2022, Thursday: Kali Puja
19 November 2022, Friday: Birth Day of Guru Nanak
25 December 2022, Saturday: Christmas Day

Yearly Closing of Bank Account: 1st April, Thursday (for Banks only, Government Offices and Treasuries will remain open)

List II (Holidays under the order of State Government in 2021)

01 January 2022, Friday: New Year’s Day
17 February 2022, Wednesday: Additional Day of Saraswati Puja
11 March 2022, Thursday: Shivaratri
29 March 2022, Monday: Holi (Day after Doljatra)
15 May 2022, Saturday: ** Additionl day of Idul Fitr
12 July 2022, Monday: Rathayatra
13 July 2022, Tuesday: Birth Day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt (for Darjeeling and Kalimpong District only)
30 August 2022, Monday: Janmastami
11 October 2022, Monday: Additionl day of Durgapuja Mahasasthi
18 October 2022, Monday: Additionl day in connection with Durgapuja
19 October 2022, Tuesday: Fateha-Dwaz-Daham
21 October 2022, Thursday: Additionl day in connection with Lakshmi Puja
22 October 2022, Friday: Additionl day in connection with Lakshmi Puja
05 November 2022, Friday: Additionl day in connection with Kali Puja
06 November 2022, Saturday: ** Bhatridwitya
09 November 2022, Tuesday: Day before Chhat Puja
10 November 2022, Wednesday: Chhat Puja

List III (Sectional Holidays in 2021)

30 March 2022, Tuesday (for Muslims only) – Sab-e-Barat
03 April 2022, Saturday (for Christians only) – ** Easter Saturday
30 June 2022, Wednesday (for Adivas (Santal) only) – Hul Diwas
To be notified later on – Karam Puja


1. Sunday are holidays under the negotiable instrument act.

2. In the year 2021, the following festivals / occasions fall on Sundays which are public holidays under N.I act and hence have not been included in lists:

I) Doljatra: 28 March Sunday
II) Mahavir Jayanti: 25 April, Sunday
III) Birth day of Rabindranath Tagore: 09 May, Sunday
IV) Independence Day: 15 August, Sunday

3. The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. (**) is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.

4. General instructions as laid down hereunder are to be followed in case of Muslim festivals.


1) No substitute holiday shall be allowed if any of the festival – holidays initially notified subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.

2) If there is any change in the date of ld-Ul-Fitre, ld-Ud-Zoha, Muharram, Fateha-Duaz- Daham, Sab-e-Barat depending upon the sighting of the moon, holiday will be declared by a separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for this festival

3) It may happen that the change of date of above mentioned occasions has to be notified at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement would be made through T.V / A.LR /News Papers and Heads of Department/ Offices of the State Government may take action according to such announcements without waiting for formal order about the change of date.

By order of the Governor
Sd/- D. K. Mahapatra
OSD & E.O. Special Secretary
to the Government of West Bengal

Check Other State Holidays 2021