Web Analytics

West Bengal Government Holiday List 2022 PDF

West Bengal Public Holiday List 2022 PDF | West Bengal Bank Holiday List 2022 PDF | West Bengal Sectional Holiday List 2022 PDF | West Bengal Holiday General Instructions for Muslim Festivals PDF

West Bengal Government holiday list 2022 PdF Download [Click to view the PDF]

Government of West Bengal
Finance (Audit) Department
Nabanna, 325, Sarat Chatterjee Road
Howrah – 711102

No. 3640-F(P2)

Howrah, the 26 November, 2021


  1. In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881), read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub(l) dated the 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to. declare the days as specified at List I below to be Public Holidays during the year 2022.
  2. The Governor is also pleased to notify that the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata shall be closed on the days as specified at List II below which are not declared to be public holidays, during the year 2022.
  3. Further, the Governor is pleased to declare that the days as specified at List Ill may be observed as Sectional Holidays in the year 2022 for the employees of different communities mentioned against the day.

List I (Public Holidays in 2022 under the N.I. Act)

Birth Day of Swami Vivekananda – 12 January (Wednesday)
Republic Day – 26 January (Wednesday)
**Saraswati Puja [Sree Panchami] – 05 February (Saturday)
Doljatra – 18 March (Friday)
Birth Day of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar – 14 April (Thursday)
Mahavir Jayanti – 14 April (Thursday)
Good Friday – 15 April (Friday)
Bengali New Year’s Day {Nababarsha) – 15 April (Friday)
Eid-UI-Fitr – 03 May (Tuesday)
Birth Day of Rabindranath Tagore – 09 May (Monday)
Buddha Purnima – 16 May (Monday)
Muharram – 09 August (Tuesday)
Independence Day – 15 August (Monday)
Durga Puja Astami – 03 October (Monday)
Durga Puja Nabami – 04 October (Tuesday)
Durga Puja Dasami – 05 October (Wednesday)
Kali Puja – 24 October (Monday)
Birth Day of Guru Nanak – 8 November (Tuesday)

Yearly Closing of Bank Account – 1 st April (Friday) (for Banks only, Government Offices and Treasuries will remain open).

List II (Holidays under the order of State Government in 2022)

**New Year’s Day – 01 January, (Saturday)
Day before Saraswati Puja – 04 February (Friday)
Birth Day of Thakur Panchanan Barma – 14 February (Monday)
Shivaratri – 1 March (Tuesday)
**Holi (Day after Doljatra) 19 March (Saturday)
Additional day for Eid-UI-Fitr – 4 May (Wednesday)
Rathayatra – 1 July (Friday)
Birth Day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt (for Darjeeling & 13 July (Wednesday) Kalimpong District only)
Janmastami – 19 August (Friday)
Additional day for Durga Puja Mahapanchami – 30 September (Friday)
**Additional day for Durga Puja Mahasasthi – 1 October (Saturday)
Additional day in connection with Durga Puja – 6 October (Thursday)
Additional day in connection with Durga Puja – 7 October (Friday)
**Additional day in connection with Durga Puja – 8 October (Saturday)
Additional day in connection with Lakshmi Puja – 10 October (Monday)
Additional day in connection with Kali Puja – 25 October (Tuesday)
Additional day in connection with Kali Puja – 26 October (Wednesday)
Bhatridwitya – 27 October (Thursday)
Additional day in connection with Chhat Puja – 31 October (Monday)
Birth Day of Birsa Munda – 15 November (Tuesday)

Birthday of Pandit Raghunath Murmu falls on 16 May, Monday, which is a holiday under N.I. Act and therefore has not been shown separately in List II.

List Ill (Sectional Holidays in 2022)

Birth Day of Guru Rabidas – 16 February (Wednesday) [for the followers of Guru Rabidas] **Easter Saturday – 15 April (Saturday) [for Christians only] Hui Diwas – 30 June, (Thursday) [for Adivasi (Santhal) only] Karam Puja – To be notified later on

Shab-e-Barat, Sectional holiday for Muslim Community falls on 19th March, Saturday, which is State Government holiday and therefore has not been shown separately in List Ill.


  1. Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act.
  2.  In the year 2022, the following festivals/occasions fall on Sundays which are public Holidays under N. I. Act and hence have not been included in lists:
    i) Birth Day of Netaji 23rd January (Sunday) ii) Birth Day of Shri Shri Harichand 10th April (Sunday) Thakur
    ii) May Day – 1 May (Sunday)
    iii) Id-Ud-Zoha (Bakrid) – 10 July (Sunday)
    iv) Mahalaya – 25 September (Sunday)
    v) Birth Day of Gandhiji – 2 October (Sunday)
    vi) Durgapuja Saptami – 2 October (Sunday)
    vii) Fateha-Dwaz-Daham – 9 October (Sunday)
    viii) Lakshmi Puja – 9 October (Sunday)
    ix) Chhat Puja – 30 October (Sunday)
    x) Christmas Day – 25 December (Sunday)
  3. The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e.(**) is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.
  4. General instructions as laid down hereunder are to be followed in case of Muslim festivals.


  1. No substitute holiday shall be allowed if any of the festival – holidays initially notified subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.
  2. If there is any change in the date of Eid-UI-Fitr, Id-Ud-Zoha, Muharram, Fateha-Dwaz-Daham, Shab-e-Barat depending upon the sighting of the moon, holiday will be declared by a separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for this festival.
  3. It may happen that the change of date of abovementioned occasions has to be notified at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement would be made through T.V. /A.I.R. / News Papers. Heads of Department/ Offices of the State Government may take action according to such announcements without waiting for formal order about the change of date.

By order of the Governor,

Sd/- Manoj Pant
Principal Secretary
to the Government of West Bengal

पश्चिम बंगाल सरकार अवकाश सूची 2022 PDF | पश्चिम बंगाल में सार्वजनिक अवकाश की सूची 2022